13 area girls earn hoop honors

BRATTLEBORO — After helping the Leland & Gray varsity girls to the Final 4 on the court, Rachel Borgesen and Hannah Buffum were both named to the Marble Valley League's Division C First Team.

Centers Gabby Carpenter and Hannah Kelly are the other area players who made an MVL First Team. Carpenter and the Colonel girls went 10-11 overall, while Kelly guided Bellows Falls to a 12-9 mark.

Earning Honorable Mention were: Brattleboro's Devin Millerick and Hailey Derosia; Twin Valley's Kendell Howe and Tayler Courchesne; Leland & Gray's Jessie Stockwell and Maris Linder; and Bellows Falls' Keri Ticino, Murphy Hicks and Taylor Goodell.

The complete MVL Division A and Division C girls basketball teams are shown below:

Division A 1st Team

Brianna Legacy — MAU

Madison Little — MAU

Alyssa Sabotka — Rutland

Mariah Forte — Rutland

Gabby Carpenter — Brattleboro

Coach Dan Sleeman — MAU

Division A Honorable Mentions

Devin Millerick — Brattleboro

Hailey Derosia — Brattleboro

Jordyn Burke — MAU

Courtney Creed — Rutland

Elise Margo — Rutland

Emily Bleakie — Burr and Burton

Division C 1st Team

Rachel Borgesen — Leland & Gray

Hannah Buffum — Leland & Gray

Kassidy Cumming — Green Mountain

Mariah Luce — Woodstock

Hannah Kelly — Bellows Falls

Coach Kelly Anderson — Poultney

Division C Honorable Mentions

Kendell Howe — Twin Valley

Tayler Courchesne — Twin Valley

Nadia Cox — Poultney

Shelby Mack — Poultney

Jessie Stockwell — Leland & Gray

Maris Linder — Leland & Gray

Taylor Goodell — Bellows Falls

Murphy Hicks — Bellows Falls

Keri Ticino — Bellows Falls

Madison Schultz — Woodstock


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions